Skip to content

Council of Elders

The Council of Elders is an elected body consisting of respected senior monks and nuns. Their role is to provide spiritual guidance to the Sangha in Australia. It is envisaged that they will play a role in setting the tone and vision of the ASA. They can also provide a body of experienced monastics to whom we can turn in times of need or difficulty. They may also offer a public face for the Buddhist Sangha in Australia by formulating and propogating policies on matters of importance for the Buddhist community.

The Council of Elders is not limited in size, and may take on as many new members as the ASA sees fit. The Elders are elected for a six year term, normally at the AGM as part of the National Sangha Conference. To accomplish the work of the Council of Elders, they may appoint a Working Group from among their numbers, consisting of one monk and one nun from each of the three main traditions.

Ven. Chao Khun Samai (Wat Pa Buddharangsee)

Ven. Dhammagavesi (Lankarama)

Ven. Santitthito (Wat Buddhalavarn)

Ven. Bop Il Sunim (Bo Moon Sa Temple)

Ven. Ajahn Vayama (Dhammasara Nun’s Monastery)

Ven.Tenzin Tsapel (Chenrezig Institute)

Ven. Khenpo Ngawang Dhamchoe (Sakya Tharpa Ling)

Ven. Man Shin (Fo Guang Shan)